Long posts in e107 forum plugin causes blank page

e107 CMS » Forums » e107 v1.x Support » Core Code Support << Previous thread | Next thread >>
ians1
Mar 06 2012, 03:35AM
Registered Member #52870
Joined: Sep 11 2009, 10:48AM
Posts: 22
I have noticed that when trying to post a longer item in the forum the page will not be updated and it just hangs displaying a completely blank page.

Is there a "max forum post length" that can be changed somewhere?

Go to top
ians1
Mar 06 2012, 03:36AM
Registered Member #52870
Joined: Sep 11 2009, 10:48AM
Posts: 22
This is a new installation
Go to top
Moc
Mar 06 2012, 03:41AM
Registered Member #44563
Joined: Apr 12 2008, 03:01AM
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4278
- Does this solely happen when posting an item with some huge length or does it also include codes?
- A blank page means an error is thrown but due to security reasons it's not shown. Use the e107 debugger to find the error message. See: [-link-]

Go to top
C6Dave
Mar 06 2012, 04:34AM
C6Dave
  • e107 Support Team Leader
Registered Member #9506
Joined: Jul 31 2004, 12:57AM
Location: North East UK
Posts: 12632
In the forum_t table the field has simply a 'text' attribute - you could try changing it to 'longtext' (same as pcontent) as you can post a big page in there (example: [-link-]

EDIT: done some research and found this:

The maximum amount of data that can be stored in each data type is as follows:

TINYTEXT 256 bytes
TEXT 65,535 bytes ~64kb
MEDIUMTEXT 16,777,215 bytes ~16MB
LONGTEXT 4,294,967,295 bytes ~4GB
[ Edited Mar 06 2012, 04:42AM ]
Go to top
Website
ians1
Mar 10 2012, 03:11PM
Registered Member #52870
Joined: Sep 11 2009, 10:48AM
Posts: 22
Not sure how to change that, would need more info.
Go to top
C6Dave
Mar 10 2012, 11:47PM
C6Dave
  • e107 Support Team Leader
Registered Member #9506
Joined: Jul 31 2004, 12:57AM
Location: North East UK
Posts: 12632
You change it via cPanel >> phpmyadmin by editing the field
Go to top
Website
GregTampa
Mar 21 2012, 01:37PM
Registered Member #26429
Joined: Apr 03 2006, 07:08PM
Posts: 68
I changed the structure to use longtext still blank page.. will debug now.
Go to top
GregTampa
Mar 21 2012, 01:46PM
Registered Member #26429
Joined: Apr 03 2006, 07:08PM
Posts: 68
still blank with debugger/developermode on and using chrome and firefox tool and with debug all stick on
..dealing wtih forum_post.php preview also shows white page same file. time for some echoing in forum_post.php
Go to top
GregTampa
Mar 21 2012, 01:56PM
Registered Member #26429
Joined: Apr 03 2006, 07:08PM
Posts: 68
code breaking on the require once to the class2 file
Go to top
Moc
Mar 21 2012, 04:08PM
Registered Member #44563
Joined: Apr 12 2008, 03:01AM
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4278
Please give us the full error, this extract of it is not very helpful unfortunately.
Go to top
GregTampa
Mar 22 2012, 10:47AM
Registered Member #26429
Joined: Apr 03 2006, 07:08PM
Posts: 68
no error jsut blank page.. no error show up on debug..
the full error is -O-
Go to top
Moc
Mar 22 2012, 12:18PM
Registered Member #44563
Joined: Apr 12 2008, 03:01AM
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4278
I just tested this on a clean install. I start a new thread and inserted a 8000+ words text and no problems. Can you post a copy of your text on paste2.org and paste the link back here?
Go to top
GregTampa
Apr 04 2012, 08:32PM
Registered Member #26429
Joined: Apr 03 2006, 07:08PM
Posts: 68
come to ittsec.com and try it.. maby its the theme again we using Pixeled
Version v 1.0
Go to top
Moc
Apr 06 2012, 02:20AM
Registered Member #44563
Joined: Apr 12 2008, 03:01AM
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4278
I've signed up for an account, awaiting approval.
Go to top
GregTampa
Apr 17 2012, 08:55AM
Registered Member #26429
Joined: Apr 03 2006, 07:08PM
Posts: 68
crap i might of banned u so many bots sign up...whats the account name moc? ill approve now.
Go to top
GregTampa
Apr 17 2012, 08:56AM
Registered Member #26429
Joined: Apr 03 2006, 07:08PM
Posts: 68
MOC i found ya! i made you admin btw.
Go to top
Moc
Apr 17 2012, 08:56AM
Registered Member #44563
Joined: Apr 12 2008, 03:01AM
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4278
I'll get back to you asap, working on loads of things.
Go to top
Moc
Apr 22 2012, 03:32AM
Registered Member #44563
Joined: Apr 12 2008, 03:01AM
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4278
I just posted a 10.000 words post. [-link-]

If you're still experiencing the issue, please copy the text onto paste2.org and link it back here so I can try it.
[ Edited Apr 22 2012, 03:33AM ]
Go to top
GregTampa
Apr 23 2012, 11:38AM
Registered Member #26429
Joined: Apr 03 2006, 07:08PM
Posts: 68
aight maby its when i use html post...inside the [html] code.
i might of fixed it unknownly when i changed some of the code.
Go to top
Moc
Apr 23 2012, 11:43AM
Registered Member #44563
Joined: Apr 12 2008, 03:01AM
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4278
Yeh, find the HTML and script posting permissions in the preferences and play around with it
Go to top
 

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System